Driving with the Frenchies

 We are moving on today to Avignon and we are driving. We pick up our car which turns out to be a Tesla😱. So I am explained in 5 minutes how to get around in this weirdo mode of transport. Anyway,I have to adapt to this new vehicle, drive on the wrong suide of the road in the middle of the 2nd biggest city in France-what could possibly go wrong.

Somehow we manage to get out of the city and travel first to Les Baux




and then on to Pont Du Gard( an old Roman why a duck-"pourquoi un canard")






We finally arrive in Avignon and discover our host's definition of "parking on premises" is wildly different to ours. We follow our GPS to our address but are stopped by a group of locals who indicate we should chuck a Uie, which proved to be impossible as we had already applied vaseline to the sides of the car and retracted the rear vision mirrors; with incredible skill I managed to reverse out of a tricky situation.
The "road to our house"

All the functions in our house are controlled by the mysterious and disobedient Alexa who lives in small boxes in every room and reminds me of Hal 2000.

We eat a very fine dinner at a local taverna.







Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Perambulating around the Parthenon

In Ioannina

Back in Athens